海胆在日料中的地位

发表时间:2021-06-21 09:56

尽管日本人吃海胆的历史最早可追溯至公元9世纪,但它风靡日本其实也不过是五、六十年事而已。在此前的漫长岁月中,海胆都只是局限于北海道等偏远地区的地方性食材,在本州等核心地带基本无人问津。

直到上世纪60年代,随着铁路与保鲜技术的发展,开始有人通过JR铁路线,将产自北海道的新鲜海胆引入东京筑地市场,希冀让东京人民也能感受这种东北土特产的绝伦美味。


图片 1.jpg

然而,对于从未接触过的入口的食材,人们多少抱有戒备心理,要东京的食客们突破心防,将长得有如异形般奇诡、口感也超乎常规认知的海胆吞下肚去,可没那么容易。而习惯了料理江户前食材的厨师们,面对这种“怪东西”,同样一筹莫展,无从着手。

于是,海胆这如今的日料店宠儿,在登陆东京的初期,惨遭冷落。

图片 2.jpg

直至银座的殿堂级寿司老铺“久兵卫”的初代掌门人,首创用海苔将海胆与醋饭包裹起来的军舰卷。醋饭的酸味恰能中和海胆的甘甜,海苔的海潮味又能与海胆的鲜味相匹配,海胆、海苔、醋饭三者互有良好的化学反应,构筑成坚实的“味觉铁三角”。


图片 3.jpg

军舰寿司

或许是终于找到了正确的打开方式,海胆终于在寿司界站稳了脚跟。以这个“大型真香现场”为基点,海胆得以在地理上、技术上继续拓展,推广到全日本的各项料理领域,并迅速掀起了全球性的热潮。

海胆的打开方式不止一种

海胆军舰卷

寿司术语中,把用海苔来包围醋饭团,并将食材置于其上的做法称作“军舰卷”,常用于海胆、鲑鱼卵、飞鱼籽、蟹黄等难以捏制成型的食材。在军舰的“炮轰”下,海胆成功撬动了保守的东京市场,是当之无愧的海胆料理之尊。


图片 4.jpg

目前海胆寿司的做法以军舰卷为主流,就连“寿司之神”小野二郎亦是其拥趸。但事实上,在日本始终存在“海胆与海苔是否兼容”的争议:“纯粹主义者”相信海苔浓郁的香气与鲜味,会掩盖海胆的风味,更推崇不加海苔、直接捏成握寿司的做法。


图片 5.jpg

海胆握寿司,对寿司师傅的功力是一大考验

海胆盖饭

要一次性享受海胆的美味,还有什么比海胆盖饭更奢侈的吃法吗?将满满的海胆,覆盖在白饭上,再一起吞下肚去,这等享受,任谁都无法抗拒!


图片 6.jpg

若想进一步提升风味,也可再撒上些许鲑鱼卵。这两个“北海道老乡”金风玉露一相逢,便胜却人间无数,海胆的甘甜与鱼卵的咸鲜激烈碰撞,举案齐眉,将醋饭妆点得浓墨重彩。


图片 7.jpg

从视觉上就能感受到两位“北海道老乡”的激情碰撞

海胆天麸罗

海胆是种极其纤弱的食材,用力稍猛便会破碎,一受热又会融化,乍看之下显然并不适合粗暴的油炸,因此,海胆天麸罗听着就像一个“不可能的任务”一样。但事实上,海胆已经是如今天麸罗店里的新宠——有着嘴刁的食客和聪明的大厨,又有什么办不到呢?


图片 8.jpg

用紫苏叶或海苔卷起满满的海胆,拖上面糊后下锅油炸,仅待外皮金黄香脆便迅速捞出,前后不过10秒。一口咬下,酥脆外皮下包裹的海胆鲜甜喷涌而出,绝不是简单的“外脆里嫩、入口即化”所能涵盖的。

海胆蒸蛋

总体来说,海胆以生食为主,不过蒸制同样能完整保留其鲜甜滋味。无论在日本还是中国,都流行用海胆来蒸鸡蛋的做法,不过也略有区别:日本更流行“茶碗蒸”,中国沿海地区则会直接将蛋液倒入海胆壳中蒸至凝固。


图片 9.jpg

中式海胆蒸蛋

海胆与鸡蛋皆为鲜甜温润之物,仿佛生来便能举案齐眉,而海胆的海潮滋味则令更鲜度更上层楼。


图片 10.jpg

日式茶碗蒸

海胆意大利面

海胆非日本专利,西方人同样爱得要死。在盛产海胆的法国海边,会将海胆同生蚝、贻贝等海产一同组成拼盘;而到了意大利,则无疑是意面的天下。


图片 11.jpg

海胆本就有奶油般的稠厚口感,与加入大量奶油的白汁意面堪称绝配,当二者融为一体,海胆既是辅料,又是酱料。同时痴迷海胆与意面的日本人,又将日式食材融入其中,以东方思维来重新演绎:例如,加入明太子来进一步提升海洋的鲜度,或是通过紫苏来赋予更清新的气息。


图片 12.jpg

虾夷马粪海胆:海胆黄呈明显的橙红色,色泽较深,外观和马粪海胆十分相似,个头稍大些,风味更加甘甜浓郁,被认为是最高档的海胆品种。


图片 13.jpg

紫海胆:外壳是紫色,刺比马粪海胆长许多,海胆黄呈黄色,风味相对淡雅,是日本最常见的海胆品种。


图片 14.jpg

北紫海胆:外壳也是紫色,很容易和紫海胆混淆,但个头比紫海胆要大,外壳可达10厘米左右,海胆黄呈非常浅的淡黄色,与虾夷马粪海胆同为最高级,是“寿司之神”小野二郎钟爱的品种。


图片 15.jpg

赤海胆:外壳呈红色,而海胆黄则呈金黄色,口感浓郁,因为产量小而价格昂贵,虽不及虾夷马粪海胆与北紫海胆知名,也备受美食家推崇。


图片 16.jpg

需要注意的是,以上的“紫海胆”或“赤海胆”是根据海胆的外壳颜色来命名的。而在日本业界的行话中,则习惯根据肉色(也就是海胆黄的颜色)来称呼,将北紫海胆称作“白海胆”,将虾夷马粪海胆称作“赤海胆”,千万不要搞混淆了。


图片 17.jpg

 而根据品级划分,则可分为A、B、C三个等级。A级最高,代表新鲜度、甘甜度、紧致度皆达到最佳,这也代表了业界关于海胆品质的基本判断标准:品质新鲜,没有异味;滋味甘美,苦涩较少;外观完整,没有破损。


分享到:

The status of sea urchins in Japanese food

Issuing time:2021-06-21 09:56

Although the history of Japanese eating sea urchins can be traced back to the 9th century, it is only 50 or 60 years since it became popular in Japan. In the long years before that, sea urchins were only local ingredients confined to remote areas such as Hokkaido, and no one paid attention to them in the core areas such as Honshu.

Until the 1960s, with the development of railway and fresh-keeping technology, some people began to introduce fresh sea urchins from Hokkaido to Tokyo Tsukiji market through Jr railway line, hoping that the people of Tokyo can also feel the incomparable delicacy of this northeast local specialty.



图片 1.jpgHowever, people are more or less wary of imported ingredients that they have never touched before. It's not so easy for Tokyo diners to break through their guard and swallow sea urchins that look strange and taste beyond conventional cognition. The chefs who are used to cooking edoqian food are also at a loss to deal with this "strange thing".

As a result, sea urchins, now the favorite of Japanese food stores, were left out in the cold when they landed in Tokyo.

图片 2.jpg

Until the early leader of the palace level sushi shop "jiubingwei" in Ginza, he first used seaweed to wrap sea urchins with vinegar rice. The sour taste of vinegar rice can just neutralize the sweetness of sea urchin, and the tidal taste of seaweed can match the delicious taste of sea urchin. Sea urchin, seaweed and vinegar rice have good chemical reactions with each other, forming a solid "taste iron triangle".



图片 3.jpg

Maybe the right way to open the sea urchin is finally found, and the sea urchin has a firm foothold in the sushi industry. Based on this "large-scale real fragrant scene", sea urchins can continue to expand geographically and technologically, spread to all kinds of cooking fields in Japan, and quickly set off a global upsurge.

There is more than one way to open sea urchins

Sea urchin warship roll

In sushi terms, the method of using seaweed to surround the vinegar rice ball and put the ingredients on it is called "warship roll", which is often used in sea urchin, salmon eggs, flying fish seeds, crab roe and other food materials that are difficult to be molded. Under the "bombardment" of warships, sea urchins have successfully pried the conservative Tokyo market and are worthy of the respect of sea urchin cuisine.




图片 4.jpg

At present, the practice of sea urchin sushi is mainly based on warship roll, and even "God of sushi" Ono Erlang is also a supporter. But in fact, there is always a dispute about the compatibility between sea urchin and seaweed in Japan: "purists" believe that the strong aroma and taste of seaweed will cover up the flavor of sea urchin, and they prefer to directly pinch sushi without seaweed.

图片 5.jpg

Sea urchins holding sushi is a great test for sushi masters

Rice with sea urchin

If you want to enjoy the delicious sea urchin at one time, what's more luxurious than sea urchin meal? Will be full of sea urchins, covered in rice, and then swallow together, such enjoyment, no one can resist!



图片 6.jpg

If you want to further enhance the flavor, you can also sprinkle some salmon eggs. When the two "Hokkaido natives" meet, they will win countless lives. The sweetness of sea urchins and the saltiness of fish eggs collide fiercely. They raise their eyebrows and make up the vinegar rice.

图片 7.jpg

From the visual sense, we can feel the passionate collision between the two "Hokkaido villagers"

Sea urchin tempura

Sea urchin is a kind of extremely delicate food. It will break if forced a little, and melt when heated. At first glance, it is obviously not suitable for rough frying. Therefore, sea urchin tempura sounds like an "impossible task". But in fact, sea urchins have become a new favorite in today's Brano shop, such as a smart eater and a smart chef?


图片 8.jpg

Roll up the sea urchin with perilla leaves or seaweed, drag the paste on it and fry it in the pan. Just wait for the golden skin to be crisp and quickly remove it. It takes less than 10 seconds. The sea urchins wrapped under the crispy skin gush out with a bite, which is not covered by the simple "crispy outside, tender inside, melting in the mouth".

Steamed egg with sea urchin

Generally speaking, sea urchins are mainly eaten raw, but steamed sea urchins can retain their fresh and sweet taste completely. Both in Japan and China, it is popular to steam eggs with sea urchin, but there is a slight difference: in Japan, "tea bowl steaming" is more popular, while in coastal areas of China, the egg liquid is directly poured into the shell of sea urchin and steamed until solidified.


图片 9.jpg

Steamed egg with Chinese sea urchin

Sea urchins and eggs are both fresh, sweet and moist, as if they were born to raise eyebrows. The sea urchin's taste of sea tide makes them fresher and better.



图片 10.jpg

Steamed tea bowl in Japanese style

Sea urchin spaghetti

Sea urchins are not patented in Japan, and Westerners love them to death. In France, where sea urchins are abundant, sea urchins, oysters, mussels and other seafood will be put together to form a platter; When it comes to Italy, it is undoubtedly the world of spaghetti.



图片 11.jpg

Sea urchin has a thick taste like cream, which is a perfect match for white spaghetti with a lot of cream. When the two are integrated, sea urchin is not only an accessory, but also a sauce. At the same time, Japanese, who are obsessed with sea urchins and pasta, integrate Japanese food into them and reinterpret them with Oriental thinking: for example, adding Prince ming to further enhance the freshness of the ocean, or giving a fresher flavor through perilla.



图片 12.jpg

Sea urchin: sea urchin is yellow, orange red and deep in color. Its appearance is very similar to that of sea urchin. It is slightly larger and has a sweeter flavor. It is considered to be the most high-grade sea urchin


图片 13.jpg

Purple sea urchin: the shell is purple, the thorn is much longer than the horse dung sea urchin, the sea urchin is yellow, the flavor is relatively elegant, is the most common sea urchin species in Japan.

图片 14.jpg

North purple sea urchin: the shell is also purple, which is easy to be confused with purple sea urchin. However, it is bigger than purple sea urchin, and the shell can reach about 10 cm. Sea urchin yellow is very light yellow, which is the highest grade with shrimp Yima dung sea urchin. It is a favorite variety of "God of sushi" Ono Erlang.

图片 15.jpg

Red sea urchin: the shell is red, and the sea urchin yellow is golden. It has a strong taste. Because of its small yield and high price, it is not as famous as the shrimp Yima dung sea urchin and the North purple sea urchin, but also highly praised by gourmets.

图片 16.jpg

It should be noted that the above "purple sea urchin" or "red sea urchin" is named according to the shell color of sea urchin. In the jargon of the Japanese industry, it is customary to call the sea urchin "white sea urchin" and "red sea urchin" according to the color of the flesh (that is, the color of sea urchin yellow). Don't confuse them

图片 17.jpg

According to the classification, it can be divided into a, B and C levels. Grade A is the highest, representing the best freshness, sweetness and compactness, which also represents the industry's basic criteria for judging the quality of sea urchins: fresh quality, no peculiar smell; The taste is sweet and less bitter; The appearance is complete without damage.


Share to: